#YeoorNatureTrek

Waking up at 5 a.m. is something I rarely do, that is only if need be. Who wakes up at this ungodly hour? Any other day, I’d have smirked and laughed the idea off. But not Sunday (March 12, 2017). This was the day I ventured out for my very first trek. Living in a new city, I am still unfamiliar with places around and on exploration mode. A friend of mine (to whom I’ll eternally be grateful) introduced me to this group “Shaala” (Marathi for school) which arranges different activities, trek being one of them. The group was going to a nearby place called Yeoor Hills in Thane, popular as a green cover amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. Ok, so long story short. I got in touch with the organizer, got myself registered and was on my way to my first ever trek in the city.

Since the trek was scheduled to start at 6 a.m. on Sunday, I reached the destined place by 5.45 a.m. We were a sizable group with around 30-35 people, including the kids. It was still dark when we reached the entrance gate and began our trek towards the hilltop. Treading uphill with only mobile flashlights to light up the path we were supposed to trek, till the sun rose, was a little daunting but all the more adventurous. And then as we were reaching our first stopover, dawn broke. The first rays of the sun touched the earth, shattering the darkness around and dramatically transforming the grey sky into a riot of colors. Watching the sky change hues, by the hillside was an experience in itself.

We settled down there for a while, catching our breath and resting our tired legs. All around were dry grass and green trees, under the beautiful, pristine blue sky. Greenery till the eye could see. If this was the scene at the onset of summer, monsoons would be truly beautiful. After breakfast, we were back on our feet to climb another hillock. This trek was a little unnerving, given the steepness and slippery nature of the path. However, the infectious energy of the crowd conquered that fear too. Lending helping hands to the kids and people who found it difficult to climb, we reached the top. What a stark contrast it was! We were overlooking the concrete jungle sitting on nature’s lap. Though dry around, there were trees that selflessly offered their shade to the tired souls that had come for respite from the maddening crowd. Coming down after taking in the magnificent view of Thane city, we rested at another stopover playing games that reminded of blissful childhood days. Time, that day, surely flew at jet speed. Glancing at my watch, I realized it was 10.30 a.m. and we were nearing the end of the trek. Where did all the time go?

Climbing downhill was an equally exhilarating experience. The body was a bit tired, but not the mind, which was rejuvenated. I’m so glad I went on that trek. I rediscovered my love for treks, a thing I had long forgotten.

Until my next walk on nature’s path!

A few clicks from that day.

 

 

One thought on “#YeoorNatureTrek

Leave a Reply

